AAPC Announces 14 Medical Coding Specialty Certifications

In response to the growing demand in the medical profession for coders with individualized training in particular medical specialties, the American Academy of Professional Coders (AAPC) is expanding its certification offering to now include 14 specialty-specific credentials. These certifications complement AAPC’s core Certified Professional Coder (CPC™), Certified Professional Coder-Hospital (CPC-H™) and Certified Professional Coder-Payer (CPC-P™) certifications.

AAPC’s 14 specialty certifications include:

  • Ambulatory Surgical Center (CPC–ASC)
  • Anesthesia (CPC-ANEST)
  • Cardiology (CPC-CARDIO)
  • Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery (CPC-CTS)
  • E/M Auditor (CPC-E/M)
  • Family Practice Medicine (CPC-FP)
  • Gastroenterology (CPC-GI)
  • General Surgery (CPC-GENSG)
  • Internal Medicine (CPC-INTMED)
  • Obstetrics/Gynecology (CPC-OBGYN)
  • Orthopedics (CPC-ORTHO)
  • Otolaryngology (CPC-ENT)
  • Pediatrics (CPC-PEDS)
  • Plastics and Reconstructive Surgery (CPC-PLRS)

AAPC’s specialty certifications are available for those individuals who already hold CPC, CPC-H, CPC-P, CCS, or CCS-P designations and wish to demonstrate superior levels of expertise in selected disciplines of medical coding.

Click here to read the entire press release: AAPC Announces 14 Medical Coding Specialty Certifications
Specialty credentials ensure higher standard of coding